Werner Zangerle works as a freelancing musician and composer in Vienna. As Jazzmusician, Improviser and Composer he is inspired by contemporary and historic styles of Jazz, free Improvisation and Contemporary Century Classical Music.

He was born in Salzburg, took some piano lessons as a child and picked up the Saxophone at the age of 14, taking lessons from Helmuth Gubi. In 1999 he enrolled at the Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz, where he studied Jazzsaxophone with focus on Composition/Arrangement and 20th Century Classical Music. His teachers included Allan Praskin, Florian Bramböck, Harry Sokal, Doug Hammond, Christoph Cech and Renald Deppe. In 2007 Werner Zangerle received his Master of Arts degree and graduated with honours.

Open Minded and Open Eared he is involved in projects ranging from Traditional, Modern and Free Jazz, Free Improvisation, Contemporary Classical Music to Noise and Indie Rock. As leader and co-leader he has released several albums.

Werner Zangerle is a member of several bands and is working with writers such as Bodo Hell and Felix Mitterer and musicians from all over europe.

In 2012 he founded the record label Listen Closely.
In 2013 he initiated the “hoerthoert – Festival für Zuhörkultur”.

2016 he was awarded with the Startstipendium (a scholarship) of the Office of the Federal Chancellor.

Werner Zangerle lebt als freischaffender Musiker und Komponist in Wien. Als Jazzmusiker, Improvisator und Komponist bezieht er Inspiration aus zeitgenössischen und historischen Jazzstilen, freier Improvisation und Neuer Musik.

Er wurde in Salzburg geboren, erhielt als Kind Klavierunterricht und begann im Alter von 14 Jahren bei Helmuth Gubi mit dem Saxophonunterricht. 1999 begann er sein Studium an der Anton Bruckner Privatuniversität in Linz, dort studierte er Jazzsaxophone mit den Schwerpunkten Komposition/Arrangement und Neuer Musik. Er studierte unter anderem bei Allan Praskin, Florian Bramböck, Harry Sokal, Doug Hammond, Christoph Cech und Renald Deppe. 2007 schloß er sein Masterstudium mit Auszeichnung ab.

Ohne Scheuklappen und mit offenen Ohren ist er in die verschiedensten musikalischen Projekte (Jazz, Modern Jazz, Free Jazz, freie Improvisation, Neue Musik, Noise und Indie Rock) involviert. Als Bandleader und Co-Leader hat er einige Tonträger veröffentlicht.

Werner Zangerle ist Mitglied einiger Bands,  arbeitet mit Autoren wie Bodo Hell und Felix Mitterer und Musikern aus ganz Europa.

2012 gründete er das Plattenlabel Listen Closely.
2013 initiierte er das „hoerthoert – Festival für Zuhörkultur“.

2016 erhielt er das Startstipendium des Bundeskanzleramts.